Love Language Theory: A way to strengthen relationships

How do you want to receive and express love in a relationship? This is the focus of what an author, pastor, and counselor Gary Chapman, PhD in his theory on five languages of love. Anyone in love wants to keep the relationship and so comes the need to show how love can be best demonstrated to the other half.

The Five Languages of Love

Having facilitated counseling among couples since or even before the 1990s, Dr. Chapman noted a pattern of couples’ needs of how to be loved. Over the years observing couples, he noted five love love languages that are common among love birds.

Words of Affirmation

The act of showing affection through spoken words, praise, or admiration is known as words of affirmation. Kind words of encouragement, as well as inspiring quotes, love notes, and adorable SMS messages, are all appreciated when this is someone’s primary love language. By complementing them or pointing out what they do well, you can brighten their day.

Quality Time

With this love language, full attention is used to communicate love and affection for someone. If you are present and focused on the person, they will feel loved. This entails putting down the phone, taking a break from work, making eye contact, and paying attention. Reiterate what the other person is saying and avoid giving advise.

Physical Touch

Physical affection makes a person who uses physical touch as their major love language feel cherished. Besides sex, they feel loved when their partner holds their hand, rubs their arm, or gives them a massage at the end of the day. A perfect date for this individual would entail cuddling on the couch with a glass of wine and a decent movie. They merely want to be physically close to their lover.

Acts of Service

For this love language, even the little things matter. For the ladies, this could come in the form of preparing the food for the table, helping them do the dishes, and running errands for household needs.

Receiving Gifts

When we send gifts to the ones we love the most, it’s a way to celebrate romantic love, friendship and admiration. We could celebrate love day by sending messages of love and affections to partners, family, and friends. We can make it even more special by accompanying messages with some presents that speak of our affection. We could send cakes, flowers, or wine.

Knowing your partner’s love language and letting them know yours can help you both feel loved and stay in love. Keep expressing your love language and see for yourself the magic it brings to the relationship.

At Rings & Bouquet, the best way to express love language if you are already sure with your “the one” is by getting married. Contact your Davao signature wedding planner today!